Five Things Friday Banner

Five Things Friday [#3]

Happy Friday everyone. So how was your week? Here’s my Five Things Friday round-up ahead of the weekend. It’s been quite busy here at Touring Tales Books, lots of going on on and offline as well as lovely bookish reads.


ONE

New on my TBR List

My TBR list is getting crazy long and I’m adding several books each week. Several on my TBR List are for books scheduled for release later this year.

2021 is looking like a bumper year for new releases. One positive outcome of 2020 is that all those talented authors out there got busy and wrote their socks off. We shall be spoilt for choice over the next couple of years.

Anyway, back to this week, I have to share Kate Mosse’s latest release The City of Tears. I am a big Kate Mosse fan, having read all her other books I’m keen to schedule this in to my reading calendar this year.

Kate Mosse The City of Tears
Promoted on Touring Tales Books - Five Things Friday List

Following on from the Sunday Times number one bestseller, The Burning Chambers, Kate Mosse’s The City of Tears is the second thrilling historical epic in The Burning Chambers series, for fans of Ken Follett and Dan Brown.


TWO

What I’ve been reading

This week I was thrilled to be on the blog tour to promote Trobairitz The StoryTeller by Celia Micklefield.

Banner_Trobairitz The Storyteller

Trobairitz were female troubadours of the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. They brought news and sang songs about love, tradition and the role of women in society. Feisty truck driver, Weed, is a twenty first century Trobairitz, who entertains fellow truck drivers with her stories at overnight truck stops. I loved this book, couldn’t put it down. Highly recommended.


THREE

What I’ve been Watching/Listening To

This week I’ve been listening to a The Power Hour podcasts hosted by Adrienne Herbert. I’ve dipped into several episodes with guests such as Liz Earle, Tom Daley and James Clear (Author of Atomic Habits). The podcasts are very informative and well put together. You can read my book review of Adrienne’s new book The Power Hour here.

As for watching… This week I attended the online LIVE Costa Book Awards 2020 Event. Congratulations to all the shortlisted finalists for 2020, there are some great books listed, so check them out if you’re looking for a new read.

The overall winner for 2020 was The Mermaid of Black Conch, you can read more on the BBC news art section here.

Costa Book Awards Event 2020 – Watch the awards coverage (30 mins)

FOUR

Photo Of The Week

So we’ve had snow here in Wiltshire over the past week. It was the first time Coco, our chocolate Cocker Spaniel puppy, had seen snow. She totally got the spaniel zoomies and was racing around all morning in hyper mode. Loved watching her explore, sniff, eat and roll about in the snow.

Touring Tales dog Coco's first snow 2021. Photo of the week on Five Things Friday

FIVE

What’s been happening at Touring Tales

Offline: This week we’ve been preparing to decorate our study / reading room. We’ve had new curtains delivered this week, which are gorgeous. We’ve also received wall art stickers and chosen the paint for the feature wall. The theme is nature and trees as we have a copse of trees behind our house that is so lovely to look out at all year round. We’ll be getting the paint brushes out this weekend so hopefully I’ll be able to share a finished photo in next Friday’s post.

On the book blog: I’ve been busy updating my book reading calendar for my spring reading. It’s filling up quite nicely, including guest posts and author Q&As to look forward to – exciting stuff. You can see what’s coming up on my Book Schedule page.

Just incase you missed my posts this week:

Previous Five Things Friday posts:

Facebook: This week I’ve launched a TouringTales Facebook page. I wasn’t sure if this was worth my time but decided to give it a go as there are alot of book lovers on FB. On my @touringtales page I’ll share regular blog post updates, bookish articles and news that I’ve spotted around the web.

Follow me on Facebook

I think that’s about it from me this week. It’s MrTT’s leaving do tonight after 35 yrs of corporate life. Sadly it won’t be down the pub but via Microsoft Teams. Still, we’ll have fun and make sure there’s plenty of bubbly and pizza 🙂

MrTT will be joining me on the blog from next month. Touring Tales will be a team of two yay! From little steps we shall grow… More on this next week.

Have a fabulous weekend. Happy reading.

Miche xxx

So how was your week? Share in the comments below

PS: If you’re new to Touring Tales then welcome. You can read more on my About Page. My book blog was launched in October 2020. I have lots planned for Touring Tales Books for 2021, so I hope you’ll follow along and say hi in the comments below.


Too busy to read? How about listening to Audiobooks whilst walking your dog? Here’s a great offer 30 Day FREE Trial


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.