New Book Releases

May 2021 New Book Releases

Things are starting to warm up nicely here in the UK, it’ll soon be time to pick your summer reading. In the meantime, with two long bank holiday weekends this month why not treat yourself to one of these New Book Releases for May 2021? There’s so much choice in the upcoming books this month, how do you decide what to read next!

Well, let me help you choose your next book to read. I’ve picked out my favourite authors, publishers and genres from the hot new May 2021 Book Releases. I’ve also kept an eye on the reaction within the book blogging community to see who’s raving about what from the ARCs (Advanced Reader Copies).

So have I got your attention? Great, then keep scrolling book lovers to see my top picks from the May 2021 Book Releases. Pre-order your favourites now.


First up on my book recommendations from the May 2021 Book Releases is…

Romance

Us ThreeRelease Date 27th May 2021

The new novel from Ruth Jones, co-creator of Gavin & Stacey

Friends forever is a difficult promise to keep…

Meet Lana, Judith and Catrin. Best friends since primary school when they swore an oath on a Curly Wurly wrapper that they would always be there for each other, come what may.

After the trip of a lifetime, the three girls are closer than ever. But an unexpected turn of events shakes the foundation of their friendship to its core, leaving their future in doubt – there’s simply too much to forgive, let alone forget. An innocent childhood promise they once made now seems impossible to keep . . .

Packed with all the heart and empathy that made Ruth’s name as a screenwriter and now author, Us Three is a funny, moving and uplifting novel about life’s complications, the power of friendship and how it defines us all.

Prepare to meet characters you’ll feel you’ve known all your life – prepare to meet Us Three.


Fiction

The Paris ApartmentPaperback Release Date 27th May 2021

When a modern woman inherits a Parisian apartment undisturbed since WWII, she discovers that it may hold the key to unraveling her cold great-grandmother’s secret life — a past of sacrifice during a mission to protect those she loved.

This has been on my wishlist for a couple of months, can’t wait for this to be released this month.


Non Fiction

For this month’s non fiction book I’ve chosen an outdoor themed cookery book. As restrictions lift and we are able to meet family and friends outside, now is a great time to brush up on those entertaining skills.

Tom Kerridge’s Outdoor CookingRelease Date 27th May 2021

Michelin-starred chef Tom Kerridge shares his huge passion for barbecue and outdoor cooking in this timely new book. He takes simple ideas like burgers and grills, and creates the ultimate version with over 80 recipes that are stunningly delicious. Chapters include 

hearty favourites like pork and chorizo burger, veggie mains like charred cauliflower salad, and shareable snacks like aubergine dips and flatbreads. He also includes desserts and drinks, tips and advice for the perfect summer barbecue, campfire or outdoor gathering with friends and family.

Whether you’re a beginner barbecuing on your balcony or a seasoned pro who really knows your smoke, charcoal and fire, Tom Kerridge’s Outdoor Cooking truly has something for everyone. Take your staycation to the next level this year with an entire summertime’s worth of incredible outdoor cooking inspiration


Mystery / Thriller

Both of YouRelease Date 27th May 2021

From the Sunday Times Number One bestselling author.

Leigh Fletcher: happily married stepmum to two gorgeous boys goes missing on Monday. Her husband Mark says he knows nothing of her whereabouts. She simply went to work and just never came home. Their family is shattered. Kai Janssen: married to wealthy Dutch businessman, Daan, vanishes the same week. Kai left their luxurious penthouse and glamorous world without a backward glance. She seemingly evaporated into thin air. Daan is distraught.     

DC Clements knows that people disappear all the time – far too frequently. These two women are from very different worlds, their disappearances are unlikely to be connected. And yet, at a gut level, the DC believes they might be.


Memoir / Autobiography

Simply The BestRelease Date 27th May 2021

David ‘Bumble’ Lloyd is one of cricket’s great characters – hilarious, informative and insightful, and filled with boundless enthusiasm for the game. Now, in Cricket Characters, he tells the stories of the most important, influential, talented and entertaining characters he has come across in sixty years in the game.  

Bumble looks back at the cricketers who have had the greatest impact on him throughout his career. From the gnarly veterans he first played against as a teenager in the Lancashire League, through the old pros he met on the county circuit while at Lancashire on to a revealing insight into life alongside Mike Atherton, Ian Botham, Nasser Hussain and Shane Warne in the commentary box, this book reveals Bumble at his best: telling great stories about his favourite people. 

Don’t forget Father’s Day 20th June (UK): It’s the perfect gift for any cricket fan.


History / Biography

Prince Philip’s CenturyRelease Date 13th May 2021

Robert Jobson’s magnificent new biography of the Duke of Edinburgh tells the full story of his remarkable life and achievements, and how, after his marriage in 1947 to Princess Elizabeth, this dedicated military man spent so much of his life supporting his wife. But he was to create a role for himself as a determined moderniser and environmental campaigner, and through the Duke of Edinburgh Awards, encouraging young people to reach their potential. Though perhaps his greatest achievements have been as a loyal husband and companion, and as a loving father and grandfather.


I love to read using Kindle Unlimited.

Why not give it a try 3 months FREE Trial.


Historical Fiction

The Evening and the MorningPaperback Release Date 13th May 2021

The much anticipated Prequel to Ken Follett’s The Pillars of the Earth, an epic historical fiction book, which I loved so can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this one.

Thirty years ago we were introduced to Kingsbridge in The Pillars of the Earth, and now in this masterful prequel international bestseller Ken Follett will take us on a journey into a rich past, which will end where his masterpiece begins.


Next up in my top picks of the May 2021 New Book Releases is…

Debut Author

The House GuestRelease Date 13th May 2021

Debut Author – a twisty psychological thriller for fans of Louise Candlish and Harriet Tyce.

Kate trusts Della, and Della trusts Kate. Their downfall is each other.

When Kate moves to London after the disappearance of her sister, she’s in need of a friend. A chance meeting leads Kate to Della, a life coach who runs support groups for young women, dubbed by Kate as ‘the Janes.’

Della takes a special interest in Kate, and Kate soon finds herself entangled in Della’s life – her house, her family, and her husband. It’s only when she realises that she’s in too deep that Della’s veneer begins to crumble, and the warnings from ‘the Janes’ begin to come true.

Why is Della so keen to keep Kate by her side? What does Kate have that Della might want? And what really lies beneath the surface of their friendship?


Young Adult

The Nightsilver PromiseRelease Date 6th May 2021

A stunningly imagined new series, destined to be a classic.

In a re-imagined world, the Empire of Albion is ruled by science. Everyone’s destiny is pre-determined by a track of stars on their wrist, and 13-year-old Paisley Fitzwilliam discovers that her fate is to die before her fourteenth year.

For fans of Nevermoor and Philip Pullman. A cinematic Game of Thrones Jnr for middle grade.


Children’s

You are a championRelease Date 27th May 2021

Aimed at children age 9 – 11 years. It’s hard to know what is possible until you start. You have to be able to dream big and be prepared to work towards your dreams. I’ve achieved a lot so far, but it didn’t come in one go; big things rarely happen overnight, and good things rarely happen as if by magic . . .

Marcus Rashford is famous worldwide for his skills both on and off the pitch – but before he was a Manchester United and England footballer, and long before he started his inspiring campaign to end child food poverty, he was just an average kid from Wythenshawe, South Manchester. Now, Marcus Rashford MBE wants to show YOU how to achieve your dreams, in this positive and inspiring guide for life.


Save to your Pinterest Board

I hope my picks from the best May 2021 Book Releases was useful. So, which one will you choose?

Happy reading

Miche xxx

In case you missed them: Previous 2021 New Book Releases Top Picks

Feb 2021 | March 2021 | April 2021


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *