New Book Releases

New Book Releases April 2021

If you’re looking for reading inspiration this month then keep reading. There are some fabulous new book releases for April 2021. To save you time, I’ve delved into the release charts and picked out my favourites to help you decide on an April read.

Don’t forget: It’s Easter weekend 2-5th April. So why not treat yourself (and the kids) to a great book for the a relaxing Easter weekend?


Romance

Everything is BeautifulRelease Date 15th April 2021

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places.

When Amy Ashton’s world fell apart eleven years ago, she started a collection.

Just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been. Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves – soon there’ll be no room for Amy at all.

Fiction

Dictionary of Lost WordsRelease Date 8th April 2021

Esme spends her childhood in the Scriptorium, a garden shed in Oxford where her father and a team of lexicographers are gathering words for the very first Oxford English Dictionary.

Esme’s place is beneath the sorting table, unseen and unheard. One day, she sees a slip containing the word ‘bondmaid’ flutter to the floor unclaimed.

Over time, Esme realises that some words are considered more important than others, and that words and meanings relating to women’s experiences often go unrecorded. She begins to collect words for another dictionary: The Dictionary of Lost Words.


Non Fiction

Resourceful LivingRelease Date 15th April 2021

Here’s another blog tour I shall be supporting in April. This look really interesting, can’t wait to try some of the tips and suggestions.

It’s often thought that restyling your space comes with a hefty price tag and unavoidable waste. But in Resourceful Living, award-winning interiors blogger Lisa Dawson shows how, with a little creativity, you can revamp your home with existing pieces, vintage finds and key purchases.


Mystery / Thriller

The HoaxRelease Date 1st April 2021

I’m excited to be on the blog tour for this book release. My book review will be shared on the 6th April.

Meet Frankie Baxter. She’s trying to make ends meet and keep the boat afloat for her three kids. She’s harassed, sometimes impatient, but she’s a fabulous mum. So imagine her distress when Henry, her youngest child, goes missing…

Henry returns safely accompanied by a stranger, Cora, a fairy godmother who starts to change the Baxter family’s lives in the best of ways. So why do things suddenly start going wrong? Is Cora fulfilling their dreams – or is she the start of a nightmare?

Funny, terrifying and a real page-turner, The Hoax puts a whole new slant on psychological thrillers…


Memoir / Autobiography

All of Me: My Extraordinary LifeRelease date 15th April 2021 (paperback)

Already available in hardback, the paperback version of Barbara Windsor’s Autobiography is available this month. The heart-warming autobiography chronicling her early childhood in London’s East End to receiving a DBE in 2000.


History / Biography

The Multifarious Mr. BanksRelease Date 13th April 2021

One for garden lovers… From Botany Bay to Kew, The Natural Historian Who Shaped the World.

As official botanist on James Cook’s first circumnavigation, the longest-serving president of the Royal Society, advisor to King George III, the “father of Australia,” and the man who established Kew as the world’s leading botanical garden, Sir Joseph Banks was integral to the English Enlightenment. This new book reveals the true extent of Banks’s contributions to science and Britain.


Historical Fiction

HamnetRelease Date 1st April 2021

WINNER OF THE 2020 WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

On a summer’s day in 1596, a young girl in Stratford-upon-Avon takes to her bed with a sudden fever. Her twin brother, Hamnet, searches everywhere for help. Why is nobody at home?

Their mother, Agnes, is over a mile away, in the garden where she grows medicinal herbs. Their father is working in London.

Neither parent knows that Hamnet will not survive the week.

Hamnet is a novel inspired by the son of a famous playwright: a boy whose life has been all but forgotten, but whose name was given to one of the most celebrated plays ever written.


I love to read using Kindle Unlimited. Why not give it a try 30 day FREE Trial.

Next up in my top picks of the New Book Releases for April 2021…

Debut Author

Girl in the WallsRelease Date 1st April 2021

She doesn’t exist. She can’t exist.

A uniquely gothic tale about grief, belonging and hiding in plain sight.

Elise knows every inch of the house. She knows which boards will creak. She knows where the gaps are in the walls. She knows which parts can take her in, hide her away. It’s home, after all. The home her parents made for her. And home is where you stay, no matter what.

Eddie calls the same house his home. Eddie is almost a teenager now. He must no longer believe in the girl he sometimes sees from the corner of his eye. He needs her to disappear. But when his older brother senses her, too, they are faced with a question: how do they get rid of someone they aren’t sure even exists?

And, if they cast her out, what other threats might they invite in?


Young Adult

A Secret of Birds & BoneRelease Date 1st April 2021

Sunday Times-bestselling author of The Girl of Ink & Stars, winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize.

In an Italian city ravaged by plague, Sofia’s mother carves beautiful mementoes from the bones of loved ones. But one day, she doesn’t return home. Did her work lead her into danger?

Sofia and her little brother Ermin are sent to the convent orphanage but soon escape, led by an enigmatic new friend and their pet crow, Corvith.

Together they cross the city underground, following clues in bones up to the towers of Siena, where – circled by magpies – the children find the terrible truth …


Children’s

Setsuko and the Song of the SeaRelease Date 22nd April 2021

I shall be supporting the book launch tour for the release of this lovely looking children’s book this month.

Setsuko loves the sea. She swims its shallows. She dives its depths. But she worries that her friends have chosen to abandon her way of life. Then she meets a whale who also fears he is the last of his kind. In return for giving him hope, he gifts her a song which she uses to remind people of the beauty of the ocean. Setsuko took the song and made it her own. Everyone who heard Setsuko’s song was filled with the wonder of the sea. They remembered the beauty and mystery of the ocean. 


I hope my picks from the new book releases for April 2021 was useful. So, which one will you choose?

Happy reading

Miche xxx

Back to New Book Releases List


Have you discovered Whittards Gifts?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *