Hot Desk Banner

Book Review: Hot Desk by Zara Stoneley

I knew I was going to enjoy Hot Desk by Zara Stoneley as soon as I read the book cover description. If, like me, you’ve ever had to endure desk sharing and annoying colleagues, then you’ll identify and enjoy this book.

Having read The Dog Sitter, I was keen to read Zara Stoneley’s latest book and was delighted to be sent a digital copy to review. Before I share my thoughts here’s the full book cover details.


Book Cover Notes

Same desk, different days.

A post-it note is just the beginning…

A must read for fans of Beth O’Leary, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella!

Alice loves her job and wants to keep it – whatever the price. But then she’s told the company is switching to flexible working and hot desking…Alice’s desk might look a mess, but she knows exactly where everything is. Or she did. Until she found out she’s going to share it with the most annoying guy in the office.
 
Jamie can work from anywhere. He’s quite happy to sweep his work life into a box at the end of the working day. But can sharing a desk with Alice be as much fun as teasing her in person?
 
With no option but to try it and see, will their relationship turn into open warfare or will it ever progress beyond a post-it note?


Hot Desk by Zara Stoneley - Banner

My Thoughts

Ha ha, this book took me right back to my old corporate life, with flexible working and the dreaded hot desking.

The storyline is modern and up to date as it’s set post the covid pandemic. Although, this isn’t overly referenced, it simply sets the scene as to why the main character Alice is looking forward to returning to her office after working from home during the pandemic.

Alice prefers working in the office and is relieved to be getting out of her small room in a house share, especially as her house mates are so noisy. Alice loves to people watch on the bus as she travels into work. She’s also really missed her office desk, which is full of objects that have memories and personal meanings. Her colleagues think they’re messy tat but Alice doesn’t care, they help with her creativity as a web designer.

Poor Alice can’t seem to catch a break. Every day life throws annoying obstacles in her way, such as her very persistent ex-boyfriend, her sister Sophie who steals all her clothes and hot Jamie in her office, who doesn’t seem to remember their first encounter… And now she’s being told she has to desk share… with Jamie… it really is the last straw.

It could be the last time I see him. Which is good, definitely good. Seeing him day in day out is not healthy. It’s like having a box of Maltesers open on your desk with one left in and being expected to resist it.

I remember having to switch from working on my own desk to hot desking, what a nightmare. Like Alice I had quite a lot of stuff! For months I was lugging my laptop bag that was crammed with all my pretty stationery, post-its and to-do note book. 🙂 Things like sellotape and staplers were like gold and would be stolen when your back was turned unless you hid them in your bag and lugged them about on your back all week.

I found the daily post-it notes between Alice and Jamie very entertaining and relatable. Jamie’s Hot Desk Contract was really funny, especially when they were broken and a forfeit was required.

3.1 Penalties – excessive entry into the other party’s pedestal (e.g. finishing off a packet of Hobnobs or Pringles) may be considered ‘out of order’ and may lead to a period of being ‘locked out’. A second offence will result in the injured party being allowed to name a forfeit.

The book also gently tackles some sensitive issues such as dealing with conflict and difficult people. Learning to have confidence and stand up for what you want from life and not be swept along by others needs and dreams.

It’s not what you’ve got, is it? It’s who you are inside – and not letting anybody change that.”


We’re big fans of The Book Depository


Summary

Quirky, fun and flirty. Hot Desk by Zara Stoneley is a light hearted, enjoyable escapist read.


Where To Buy

Amazon | The Book Depository

Further book info
  • Published Date: 31st August 2021
  • Publisher: One More Chapter
  • Page Count: 291

Related Post:

The Dog Sitter by Zara Stoneley – Read my book review of Zara’s previous romcom published earlier this year.


About The Author

Zara Stoneley is the USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Date.

Born in a small village in the UK, she wanted to be a female James Herriot, a spy, or an author when she grew up. After many (many) years, and many different jobs, her dream of writing a bestseller came true

She writes about friendship, dreams, love, and happy ever afters, and hopes that her tales make you laugh a lot, cry a little, and occasionally say ‘ahhh’.

Zara now lives in a Cheshire village with her family, a lively cockapoo called Harry, and a very bossy (and slightly evil) cat called Saffron.

Zara’s bestselling novels include ‘The First Date’, ‘Bridesmaids’, ‘No One Cancels Christmas’, ‘The Wedding Date’, ‘The Holiday Swap’, ‘Summer with the Country Village Vet’, ‘Blackberry Picking at Jasmine Cottage’ and the popular Tippermere series – ‘Stable Mates’, ‘Country Affairs’ and ‘Country Rivals’.


Where to find Zara online

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram 


Many Thanks To

Netgalley for my digital copy of Hot Desk by Zara Stoneley, in exchange for my honest review of the book. All opinions are my own.


Finally, I hope you’ve enjoyed my book review ofHot Desk by Zara Stoneley, go grab yourself a copy of the book today. Don’t forget to check out Zara’s other great books including:

The Dog SitterOne dog. Two strangers. An unfurgettable romance. (April 2021)

The First DateRight Place. Right Time. Wrong Guy… (June 2020)

Four Christmases and a SecretIt’s the most wonderful time of the year… Except for Daisy…


Fancy a Brew? Whittard Gifts for Tea & Coffee Lovers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *